Five Pirate Cagers Make All League Honors

Written by Estero Bay News

April 23, 2020

Morro Bay High’s Varsity Boys’ Basketball Team finished the 2019-20 season as co-Champions of the Ocean League with Nipomo High. All five starters on the team were named All-League and the veteran team featured seven seniors. Shown here during Senior Night ceremonies are from left: Eli Graves, Jeremy Michel, Orion Solu, Joey Ruddell, Jaron Li, Malik Bailey and Aaron Brengle.
Photo courtesy MBHS

Morro Bay High School’s Boys’ basketball Team finished its 2019-20 season as co-Champions of the Ocean League, tied in the standings with Nipomo High School.

The team, loaded with seven seniors, was the first for new varsity head coach Tyler Fetchner and landed several players on the All League Teams.

Senior center, Joey Ruddell was named the Ocean League’s Defensive Player of the Year sharing top honors with Nipomo’s Darrin Sosa, who was League MVP.

First Team All-League Honors went to Morro Bay’s point guard, Rebel Woodbury, a 6-foot 3-inch junior, and shooting guard Eli Graves, a 6’2” senior.

Other First Team All-League members were junior shooting guard Drew Ardouin of Atascadero; Nipomo junior forward Joey Garcia and sophomore Louis DiModica; and Pioneer Valley junior guard Ebba Tefera.

Second Team All-League honors went to Morro Bay forward, Jeremy Michel, a 6’3” senior; senior guard Jon Garcilazo of Santa Maria; senior guard Elihah Stephenson of Orcutt Academy; senior guard Zion Richardson of Atascadero; junior forward Rudy Garibay of Nipomo; and junior forward Zander Shaw of Templeton.

Honorable Mention All-League went to Morro Bay shooting guard, Aaron Brengle, a 5’10” senior; senior guard Daiscan Leekins of Santa Maria; senior forward Aiden Carroll of Orcutt Academy; junior guard Mitchell Carpenter of Atascadero; junior guard Gianni Hart of Nipomo; senior guard Evan Asplund of Templeton; and senior point guard Christian Morin of Pioneer Valley.

Coach Fetchner was named a co-coach of the Year with Nipomo’s Stan Ikeda and was ecstatic that all five of his starters were honored as All-League players.

The co-Championship this year comes after last year’s League Championship, which means the Pirates will be moved up to the Mountain League next season.

You May Also Like…